The Kagoshima City Museum of Art is located at the remains of the second bailey of Tsurumau Castle; the castle where the Shimazu clan, daimyo of the Satsuma Domain, once resided. Located at the foot of Mt. Shiroyama, it is a place that was central to the historical development of politics and culture.
The Kagoshima City Museum of Art opened in 1954 as an art museum that held historic documents. As the only public art museum in the prefecture it accumulated a unique collection and contributed to the promotion of art culture in the region through projects such as exhibitions.
Due to the wishes of the citizens and the diversification of the museum's activities, the former museum was demolished and a new building was erected. The new museum was opened on the 29th of October 1985. The Museum of Art operates with the aim of collecting, preserving, and exhibiting pieces from artists with local connections, as well as Western art from the end of the 19th century to the present.
The former Museum of Art opened.
The former Museum of Art Annex, donated by Yohachiro Iwasaki, was completed.
The design for the new museum was consigned (jointly-designed by Takeo Sato Architecture Office and Kawamoto Architectural Design Office).
The former museum was demolished.
Construction of the new museum completed.
The remodeled museum opened.
Won the 1986 27th Building Contractor's Society Award
Opening hours extended.
Gallery talks begin.
The annual opening day moved to January 2nd.
Kagoshima City Art Fund Regulations executed.
Reached 5 000 000 visitors (since remodeling).